• Info Radio

Parliamentary vetting of Deputy ministerial nominees, Minister of State-designate begins today

The Appointments Committee of Parliament will later today, Wednesday, June 2, 2021, begin the vetting of the President’s nominees for the positions of a Minister of State and 39 Deputy Ministers.

The scheduled public hearing, which will end on Tuesday, June 15, will begin at 10:00 am each day.

The nominees are expected to demonstrate their readiness to serve the nation.

President Akufo-Addo submitted the list of nominees to the Speaker of Parliament on April 21, 2021.

The list featured only 10 women nominees while the rest are men.

Meanwhile, Parliament has published the timetable for the vetting.

First to be vetted by the Appointment’s Committee is the Minister of State-designate for Finance, Charles Adu-Boahen.

He will be followed by the Deputy Minister-designate for Lands and Natural Resources, Benito Owusu-Bio, and the Deputy Ministers-designate for Local Governance, Decentralization and Rural Development, Augustine Collins Ntim, and Osei Bonsu Amoah respectively.

Deputy Ministers-designate for Energy, Finance, Food and Agriculture and Railway Development will have their turn on Thursday, June 3, 2021.

Read below the schedule for the vetting: